Awards and Achievements

The department of Mechanical Engineering has started from the beginning of the university as a leading department. A lot of achievements and awards in home and abroad by the faculty members and students have been recorded during the long journey of the department. As a part of the academic achievements, significant number of students and faculty members receive full funded international scholarship for their higher study and appoint in world top rank universities as a quality teachers and researchers upon completion the degree. Few of the selected academic achievements are listed as follows:

Prof. Dr. Mohammad Rofiqul Islam

  • 26. 05. 2010 : JSPS Medal for PhD research
  • 2009 – 2011 : JSPS Postdoctoral Fellowship for Foreign Researchers

Dr. Nirendra Nath Mustafi

  • Postdoctoral position in the field of ‘Vehicle power train and power management modeling and control’ in the Vehicle Center of Sustainable Mobility (VTP) Roztoky under Faculty of Mechanical Engineering at Czech Technical University in Prague (Mentor: Prof
  • - The University of Auckland Doctoral Completion Award 2008

Dr. Md. Emdadul Hoque

  • (1) JASSO Fellowship (2012): Saitama University, Japan
  • (2) JSPS Postdoctoral Fellowship (2008-2010): Saitama University, Japan
  • (3) Monbukagakusho Scholarship (2003-2006): Saitama University, Japan

Dr. Md. Rokunuzzaman

  • 1. Institute Gold Medal for outstanding performance from RUET (2000)
  • 2. Research Scholarship for M.Eng. Research (Thailand) (2003)
  • 3. Monbukagakusho Scholarship for D. Eng. Research (Japan) (2007)
  • 4. Best Presentation Paper Award (2010)

Dr. Mohammad Joardder (Omar)


Dr. Barun Kumar Das

  • International Postgraduate Research Scholarship (IPRS), Australia, 2015-2018.
  • School of Engineering Research Medal, 2018 by ECU

S M Najmul Hoque

  • ADB-JSP scholarship at Asian Institute of Technology, Thailand for Master of Engineering in Energy Technology in August, 2010.

Md. Shazib Uddin

  • 7. UQ Global Change Outstanding Scholarship Award, 2019, Australia
  • 6. UQ Research Training Scholarship (UQ RTP) Award for PhD degree in Australia, 2018
  • 5. AIT Research poster competition Award, Thailand, 2013
  • 4. ADB-JSP (Japan) scholarship Award for M. Engg. Degree in Thailand, 2011
  • 3. Undergraduate technical scholarship Award, 2005-2008
  • 2. Green Valley Award (H.S.C preparation Coaching center , Rajshahi), 2003
  • 1. Center First Award ( S.S.C examination)-2001

Md. Sazan Rahman

  • "Best Paper Award", in the field of Energy Technology at ICMIME 2015
  • Prime Minister Gold Medal- 2014, from Honorable Prime Minister, People's Republic of Bangladesh.
  • Best Student of Faculty, Faculty of ME, RUET, Bangladesh
  • University Gold Medal (Nominated), RUET, Bangladesh

Professor Dr. Md. Nurun Nabi

  • (Horning Memorial Award for the Most Outstanding SAE Technical Paper in 2000 [SAE Paper NO 2000-01-1819])

  • Presidential Award

Professor Dr. Murari Mohon Roy

  • (University Grand Comission (UGC) award in 2007 for fundamental and outstanding research activities)

‘ECORUN Bangladesh 2013’ award by the RUET Mechanical team

  • (Fuel efficient vehicle design contest and exhibition in Dhaka) [RUET AVENGERS became 2nd winners in 3- wheeler category vehicle RUET GRAFFINZ became 3rd winners in 4-wheeler category vehicle]